Is UCR Required in Every State?

October 12, 2023

Is UCR Required in Every State?

The Unified Carrier Registration (UCR) Board noted at a meeting in 2022 that carriers from “non-participating states” are the source of many UCR violations. Even if your company is based in a non-participating state, you may still need to register under the program.

Who must register under UCR?

Nearly all carriers engaged in interstate commerce must register under the UCR program. This includes private property carriers, for-hire passenger, property, and exempt commodity carriers, freight forwarders, leasing companies, and brokers.

Carriers domiciled in Canada or Mexico that operate in the United States are also subject to UCR registration.

Under the program, you must register, report fleet size, and pay fees annually to your base state. However, not all states participate in UCR. Even if your base state doesn’t participate, you must still register under UCR.

Participating states

If your principal place of business is in a participating state, you must use that state as your base state.

If your principal place of business is not in one of the participating states, but you have an office or operating facility located in one of those states, you must use that state as your base state.

Non-participating states

If you cannot select a base state using either of the options under “Participating states,” you must select your base state from the list of participating states that is nearest your principal place of business.

If your principal place of business state is:

You may select one of the following states:

  • Washington D.C., Maryland, New Jersey, or Vermont; or
  • The Canadian Province of Ontario, New Brunswick, Newfoundland and Labrador, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island, or Quebec
  • Connecticut, Delaware, Massachusetts, Maine, New Hampshire, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Virginia, or West Virginia
  • Florida, or
  • A state of Mexico
  • Alabama, Arkansas, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, or Texas
  • The Canadian Province of Ontario or Manitoba
  • Iowa, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, Ohio, or Wisconsin
  • Arizona, Hawaii, Nevada, Oregon, or Wyoming; or
  • The Canadian Province of Alberta, British Columbia, Manitoba, Northwest Territories, Nunavut, Saskatchewan, or Yukon; or
  • A state of Mexico
  • Alaska, California, Colorado, Idaho, Montana, North Dakota, New Mexico, South Dakota, Utah, or Washington


How to register for the UCR

If your operations are subject to UCR, you can register using the National UCR System at All UCR registrants may use this official online system, regardless of base state. J. J. Keller’s UCR filing service is also available.

Key to remember: Carriers based in non-participating states, Canada, and Mexico are still subject to registration under UCR. Proof of registration under the UCR is available to roadside enforcement via FMCSA electronic information systems. Failure to pay UCR fees is a violation of 392.2 and may be subject to citation.

How J. J. Keller Can Help

Most interstate carriers are required to register and pay fees annually under the Unified Carrier Registration Agreement before operating. This is done by filing a UCR application with the state your company is based in. If your company is based in a non-UCR state, you’ll need to file with a neighboring state.

Our team can seamlessly handle your initial UCR registration and also have your annual UCR renewals submitted on time!